---
metadata:
  - name: generator
    content: Diplodoc Platform v5.63.0
alternate:
  - en/concepts/connection/versioning
  - ru/concepts/connection/versioning
  - href: en/concepts/connection/versioning.md
    type: text/markdown
    title: Markdown version
csp:
  - script-src:
      - https://mc.yandex.ru
    img-src:
      - https://mc.yandex.ru
    connect-src:
      - https://mc.yandex.ru
      - wss://mc.yandex.ru
    child-src:
      - 'blob:'
      - https://mc.yandex.ru
    frame-src:
      - 'blob:'
      - https://mc.yandex.ru
    frame-ancestors:
      - 'blob:'
      - https://mc.yandex.ru
canonical: en/concepts/connection/versioning.html
title: Connection versioning
description: >-
  Connection versioning means storing the history of connection configuration
  changes through versions. A list of versions is available to users with the
  minimum Write access permissions to the connection.
vcsPath: en/concepts/connection/versioning.md
---

# Versioning

Connection versioning means storing the history of connection configuration changes through versions. A list of versions is available to users with the minimum edit permission for the connection.

To go to the list of versions, click <!-- diplodoc:svg ![image](../../_assets/console-icons/ellipsis.svg) --><svg xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg" width="16" height="16" fill="none" viewBox="0 0 16 16"><path fill="currentColor" fill-rule="evenodd" d="M3 9.5a1.5 1.5 0 1 0 0-3 1.5 1.5 0 0 0 0 3M9.5 8a1.5 1.5 0 1 1-3 0 1.5 1.5 0 0 1 3 0m5 0a1.5 1.5 0 1 1-3 0 1.5 1.5 0 0 1 3 0" clip-rule="evenodd"/></svg> at the top of the screen and select <!-- diplodoc:svg ![image](../../_assets/console-icons/clock.svg) --><svg xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg" width="16" height="16" fill="none" viewBox="0 0 16 16"><path fill="currentColor" fill-rule="evenodd" d="M13.5 8a5.5 5.5 0 1 1-11 0 5.5 5.5 0 0 1 11 0M15 8A7 7 0 1 1 1 8a7 7 0 0 1 14 0M8.75 4.5a.75.75 0 0 0-1.5 0V8a.75.75 0 0 0 .3.6l2 1.5a.75.75 0 1 0 .9-1.2l-1.7-1.275z" clip-rule="evenodd"/></svg> **Change history**.

![image](../../_assets/datalens/concepts/connection-version-list.png)

To select a version from the list, click it. The version number will be displayed in the `revId` parameter in the connection address string. Click a link with the version number in the `revId` parameter to open the relevant version of the connection.

## Version types {#version-types}

All versions fall into the following types:

1. **Current**: This is the most recently saved version of a connection. It is displayed for all users that open the connection for viewing in the workbook or from the navigation panel. A connection can only have one current version.
1. **Outdated**: This version is no longer current.  
   When you open an outdated version, a panel appears at the top indicating the version type, creation date and time, and login of the version author. There are buttons in the right-hand panel:

   * **Make current**: Turns an outdated version into the current one. The version current at the time will become outdated.
   * **Open current**: Opens the current version.
   
   {% cut "Outdated version" %}

   ![image](../../_assets/datalens/concepts/connection-irrelevant-version.png)

   {% endcut %}

![image](../../_assets/datalens/concepts/connection-version-types.png)

## Creating a new version {#version-create}

A new version is automatically created when you click **Save** in connection edit mode. Any connection configuration changes available in the edit interface automatically create a new version.

## Editing versions {#version-edit}

You can edit any version of a connection.

### Editing an outdated version {#current-version-edit}

To edit an outdated version, select it from the list of versions. To save your changes to an outdated version, click **Save** at the top right. This will create a new current version, and all others will become outdated.

## Limitations {#restrictions}

* Sensitive connection data, such as passwords and tokens, is not versioned.
* You can only get change history for the last three months.
* The change history only contains a list of connection versions and indicates the version type, save date and time, and user who made the change.
* Connection versions do not include:

  * Access permission changes (this operation is performed separately from connection edits).
  * Changes to the source data (rows added, updated, or deleted in the data source).

* Versions do not display a list of changes. You can only view the saved status of the connection configuration.