Managing user groups in DataLens

With user groups, you can assign identical access permissions for DataLens objects to several users at the same time.

In DataLens, user group management is performed by the administrator, i.e., user with the Admin (datalens.admin) role. The administrator can create a group, change its name, edit the list of group members, or delete it.

You cannot use the group management interface with groups from an external IdP. To set up the integration, use the synchronization script.

User groups

To go to the list of all groups:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Groups tab to see the list of all groups. You can use the filter by the group name at the top of the page.

Click the row with the group name in the group list to open the group page. You will see the following tabs with information:

  • Members: List of group members. Here you can add or remove a user from the group. To navigate to the user page, click the row with their name.

  • Overview: Controls you can use to change the group name and delete the group, along with the information about the group:

    • Name: Set when creating a group. You can change it later. The maximum length is 200 characters.
    • ID: Unique group ID assigned when creating a group. You cannot change it.

Creating a group

To create a group:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Groups tab and click Create group.
  3. Enter a name for the group and click Create group. Add users to the group you created and assign group permissions.

Changing the group name

You can change the user group name in the following ways:

  • From the group list page:

    1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
    2. Click the Groups tab.
    3. Click Edit group to the right of the group name.
    4. Enter the new group name and click Save.
  • From the group page:

    1. Open the group whose name you want to change.
    2. Go to the Overview tab.
    3. Click Edit group at the bottom.
    4. Enter the new group name and click Save.

Editing the group member list

Adding a user to a group

To add a user to a group:

  1. Open the group you need.
  2. Go to the Members tab.
  3. At the top right, click Add member.
  4. Select the user to add to the group.
  5. Optionally, to add another user, click Select user.
  6. Click Save.

Removing a user from a group

To remove a user from a group:

  1. Open the group you need.
  2. Go to the Members tab.
  3. To the right of the user's name, click Remove from group.
  4. To confirm removing the user from the group, click Remove from group. The removed user will lose the object access permissions assigned to this group.

Assigning access permissions to a group

You can assign group access permissions for the following objects:

For example, to assign identical access permissions for a workbook or collection to several users at the same time:

  1. Create a group.

  2. Add the users you want to assign identical access permissions to.

  3. Assign access permissions for a workbook or collection by specifying the group in the access settings.

    user-group-grant

You can change the group’s access permissions, edit the list of members, or delete the group later.

Deleting a group

Note

If you delete a group, its users will remain, but they will lose object access permissions configured for this group.

You can delete a group in the following ways:

  • From the group list page:

    1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
    2. Click the Groups tab.
    3. Click Delete group to the right of the group name.
    4. To confirm deletion, click Delete group.
  • From the group page:

    1. Open the group you need to delete.
    2. Go to the Overview tab.
    3. At the bottom, click Delete group.
    4. To confirm deletion, click Delete group.