User management in DataLens On-premises

In DataLens, user management is performed by the administrator, i.e., user with the Admin (datalens.admin) role. For other users to be able to log in to DataLens, the administrator has to create accounts for them. There are two types of accounts:

User accounts

A user account consists of:

  • User profile: First name, last name, login, email, ID, IdP.
  • Password.
  • Role.

The administrator can view the list of all users and their accounts. To do this:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Users tab to see the list of all users.
  3. To view a user account, click the line with the login.

Creating a user account

There are two ways to create a user account in DataLens:

  • The user signs up to DataLens by following this guide. In which case, the user gets the minimum role, Visitor (datalens.visitor). The administrator edits the new account.
  • The administrator creates an account for the user and provides the login and temporary password. The users changes the password on first sign-in according to this guide.

To create a user account:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.

  2. Go to the Users tab and click Add user.

  3. Complete the user profile:

    • Login. Enter the user’s login used to sign in and identify the account. Choose the login as per these requirements:

      • From 3 to 200 characters long.
      • Starts with an uppercase or lowercase Latin letter.
      • Other characters are uppercase or lowercase Latin letters, numbers, _, or -.
      • Ends with an uppercase or lowercase Latin letter or a number.
      • You can also use an email address as the login.
    • Optionally, specify the user’s First name.

    • Optionally, specify the user’s Last name.

    • Optionally, specify the user’s Email.

    • Role. Select a role for the user. You can change the role when editing the user profile.

    • Password. Enter a password the user will sign in with. Choose the password as per these requirements:

      • From 8 to 200 characters long.
      • Contains at least one uppercase Latin letter and one lowercase Latin letter.
      • Contains at least one number.
      • Contains at least one of these characters: !, @, #, $, %, ^, &, *, -, or _.
      • Other characters: any.
  4. Click Add.

Communicate the login and password to the user with an instruction to change the password on first sign-in as per this guide.

Editing a user account

The administrator can edit any user account, including their own one. Accounting editing includes:

Editing a user profile

To change the user profile information:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Users tab.
  3. To the right of the user's name, click Edit profile.
  4. Edit the user’s first name, last name, or email address. Click Save.

Changing the password

If the user has forgotten their password, you can reset it and set a temporary one for the user to be able to log in. To change the user's password:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Users tab.
  3. To the right of the user's name, click Change password.
  4. Enter or generate a temporary password and click Save. Communicate this password to the user and tell them to change it on first sign-in as per this guide.

Assigning a role

To change the user’s role in the service:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Users tab.
  3. To the right of the user's name, click Assign a role.
  4. Select a role from the drop-down list and click Save.

Adding a user to a group

To add a user to a group:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Users tab.
  3. Click the user row to open their personal account.
  4. Under Groups, click Add to group.
  5. Select a group to add the user to.
  6. Optionally, to add a user to another group, click Select group.
  7. Click Save.

You can also add or remove a user from a group on the group page.

Deleting a user

Warning

The administrator cannot delete their own account.

To delete a user:

  1. In the navigation panel on the left, click Service settings to open settings.
  2. Go to the Users tab.
  3. To the right of the user's name, click Delete user.
  4. To confirm deletion, click Delete user.